This article explores how you manage the different views that appear under each tab.


Tab View Options

When you click into a tab in Salesforce you'll be presented with a view of Recent records that you've personally accessed. There are options available to access different views or create new views.

  1. Click into a tab to see the view options available for that tab.
  2. Select a view and click Go! to access that view.
  3. Click on the Edit Button to update the current view.
  4. Click Create New View to initiate the process of creating a new view.


Create views that help you gain quicker access to records in the system appropriate to your role




Selecting a View

Select a view from the dropdown menu and click Go! to retrieve the view.




Creating a New View

Click on the Create New View Link to initiate the process of creating a new view.

The Create New View Interface will appear and you'll have several options for creating your view.

  • Step 1. Enter View Name - give your view an appropriate name.
  • Step 2. Specify Filter Criteria - set the filter criteria for your view.
  • Step 3. Select Fields to Display - choose the columns that you'd like to appear in your view.
  • Step 4. Restrict Visibility - set the visibility based on who you'd like the view to be available for.
  • Save - save your view after making updates.





Editing a View

After selecting a specific view, click on the Edit Link to initiate the process of updating the view.

The Edit View Interface will appear and you'll have several options for updating your view.

  • View Name - update the view name if you're choosing to save a new version of the selected view.
  • View Criteria - set the filter criteria for your view.
  • Fields to Display - choose the columns that you'd like to appear in your view.
  • Restrict Visibility - set the visibility based on who you'd like the view to be available for.
  • Save - save your view after making updates.
  • Save As - save a new version of the selected view.




Deleting a View

To delete a selected view click on the Delete Link.




Be careful to not delete views that other users in the system might be using!